The Cheviot Hills, Northumberland National Park\n© Simon Fraser

Members and Committees

River Coquet and Simonside Hills © Simon FraserRiver Coquet

Northumberland National Park Authority has 22* appointed members - six from Northumberland County Council, six parish council representatives - three from the North of the Park (formerly Alnwick & Berwick Districts) and three from South of the Park (formerly Tynedale District), and ten* appointed by the Secretary of State for the Environment to represent local, regional or national interests.

All members of the Authority serve on two main committees (The Full Authority, where the main business is conducted and the Development Management Committee which considers all matters relating to planning. Members also represent the National Park Authority on a number of outside bodies to represent the interests of Northumberland National Park.

The Full Authority also has a role to carry out scrutiny and audit to ensure that all activities of Northumberland National Park Authority meet the standards required to ensure compliance, sound governance and sound stewardship.

The Standards and Appeals Committee consists of five Members of the Authority and was established as required by the Localism Act 2011 to promote and maintain high standards of conduct by Members of the Authority; through adoption and operation of a Code of Conduct.

*  Pending Government legislation, it is anticipated that membership of Northumberland National Park Authority will reduce to 18 members from April 2014, involving the reduction of National Secretary of State Members from ten to six.

Scheme of Delegation

The Authority has adopted a Scheme of Delegation to Committees and Officers to permit swift and effective policy and decision-making by members and managerial and operational decision-making by officers within a framework of accountability to Government and local people.

The Scheme of Delegation assigns powers from the National Park Authority to committees and sub-committees and establishes terms of reference for working groups and panels which can advise the Authority. It also delegates powers to the Chief Executive to execute business and take timely decisions within a policy and financial framework and further delegates the powers of the Chief Executive to the other senior staff who are members of the Leadership Team and other staff.

© Northumberland National Park Authority, Eastburn, South Park, Hexham, Northumberland, NE46 1BS, United Kingdom
Tel: +44 (0)1434 605555 Fax: +44 (0)1434 611675 Email: