How our committee works

The Standards and Appeals Committee (S &AC) came into effect on July 1, 2012, following changes in legislation under the Localism Act 2011 to promote and maintain high standards of conduct by members of the authority, through the adoption and operation of a code of conduct.

The role of this committee, which consists of seven members of the authority (previously five members but increased at the Annual Meeting on 10 July 2019), is to investigate or comment on any matters relating to ethical standards referred to it by the Chief Executive or Monitoring Officer.

Members of the S &AC elected at the Authority’s Annual Meeting in September 2020 are: Ms Pippa Ross, Ms Liz Ellis, Ms Fiona Gough, Cllr Alan Sharp, Cllr Glen Sanderson, Cllr Mark Purvis and  Cllr Val Gibson.

The current Chairman is Ms Pippa Ross and Vice Chairman Cllr Alan Sharp who were elected at the S &AC meeting held on 9 November 2019.  The S &AC did not meet in 2020.

The full terms of reference are available on this page (updated December 2019).

Standards & Appeals ToR December 2019

In addition, an independent person, who is not a member or co-opted member of the authority, is appointed to provide advice to both the Monitoring Officer and the Standards and Appeals Committee in relation to the adherence to the code of conduct. Meetings of the Standards and Appeals Committee are held as and when required. Notice of meetings will be published here.

The next meeting of the Standards & Appeals Committee will be in early 2021 with further details to follow.

Information on the Committee

Standards and Appeals Committee

Membership of the Standards and Appeals Committee

The current Standards and Appeals Committee members, elected at the Authority’s  Annual Meeting on 10 July 2019, are Mr Peter Murray, Ms Pippa Ross, Mrs Jean Davidson, Ms Fiona Gough, Cllr Alan Sharp, Cllr Mark Purvis and Cllr Val Gibson.

At the Standards & Appeals Committee meeting held on 9 December 2019 Ms Pippa Ross was elected Chairman and Cllr Alan Sharp Vice Chairman.

At the Authority Meeting held on 11 December 2019 the Terms of Reference for the Committee were updated.



15 August 2012

  • Agenda
  • Standards & Appeals Committee Terms of Reference
  • Item 1 – Code of Conduct for Co-opted Members and Partnerships

9 November 2018

The report for this meeting is a confidential report.

Stands and Appeals Committee Agenda 09/11/2018 – PDF File

Standards and Appeals Committee Terms of Reference 2018 – PDF File

9 December 2019

S&AC 2019-12-09 Agenda




For more information

Corporate Support Officer

Telephone: 01434 605555

Fax: 01434 611675

E-mail: [email protected]