The Curlew Cup

The race is based around the villages of Stamfordham and Matfen with the start/finish in Stamfordham. These two villages have hosted the first five editions of the Curlew Cup which was launched in 2012.

In 2012 the Race was won by Dame Sarah Storey and in 2013 by Hannah Barnes. In 2014 the event was won by Katie Archibald who went on to represent Scotland in the 2014 Commonwealth Games. In 2015 the race was won by Laura Massey, 2016 by Nicki Juniper and 2017 by Julie Erskine.

The 2019 HSBC UK National Road Race Championships will take place on Sunday 7th July and will be the closing event of the four-day Cyclone Festival of Cycling.

The best male and female riders in the country will compete to be the National Champion in Senior and Under-23 categories.

Race Highlights

Watch full TV highlights from the women's Curlew Cup race.