Guiding you to the delights of the National Park

We are keen for visitors to get outdoors and enjoy the rich history, scenery, flora and fauna. There’s no better way of sampling these delights than getting your walking boots on and trying one of our guided walks.

Our walk leaders are incredibly knowledgeable about the elements that make the Park special. From strenuous walks which climb up to the Border Ridge and The Schil to easy strolls around Walltown and sections of Hadrian’s Wall, there is something for everyone.

Winter Guided Walks

Our Winter Guided Walks programme runs from November to February. It’s the perfect way to discover the varied landscapes of the National Park during the winter months. All of our Guided Walks are listed on our What’s On page, where you can explore the full range of walks on offer.

A man and woman, walking two dogs of leads, walk away from the camera along the Hadrian's Wall Path

Wed 3 November: Biddlestone Winter Walk
Wed 24 November: Hareshaw Common & the Pennine Way
Sun 28 November: Northumberland Rocks Walk & Talk
Sun 5 December: Hillforts of the Breamish Valley
Wed 15 December: Kings Wicket & Hotbank
Sat 1 January: Simonside in Winter
Wed 12 January: Humbleton & Harehope
Sun 23 January: Holystone High & Low
Wed 2 February: Simonburn Common & Brocolitia
Sun 13 February: Drake Stone

You can also download our Winter Guided Walks in Northumberland National Park leaflet here.

Joining a Guided Walk

We run a series of guided walks and navigation courses of all types and grades across the Park. Some of the walks require booking in advance, but for many of them, you can just turn up and go. Lace up your boots and enjoy a great day outside.

To view and, where necessary, book a guided walk, you can visit our What’s On page and filter for guided walks.